Places to Visit with a Message

tumblr_mdougqMQuz1re1rxko1_500

http://judithvictoriadouglas.blogspot.com/2012/12/place-to-visit-with-message.html

This will send you to my other blog site.  I usually reblog other interesting postings to this site.  This evening I have posted there and I am  reblogging here so you can see my other page.  Go to the sites posted and listen to the messages.  They’re very moving. For those who have heard them before, they are worth listening to again.

My words are not as important as those of many others who have lived before me.  Carl is special to many.  He has very good things to say for us all.

The picture comes from my jvdbooks.tumblr.com site.  I love it the most: short quotes/sayings, beautiful and/or interesting photos and art, bits of information…but mostly the pictures.  I’ve heard it said they speak a thousand words just by looking.  Enjoy.

Categories: Random Thoughts to Share, Recommendations | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Places to Visit with a Message

  1. Carl Sagan’s wisdom has always been an inspiration to me. Thank you for sharing with me and others the remarkable chapters of the ‘Sagan Series..He was a true genious of our time. Just finished watching all the chapters and they should be inspirational to all. Not only was Carl Sagan an amazing Astrophysicist, he was a remarkable wordsmith — he’s up there now in the stellar ‘cosmos’ that he so desperately wanted explored more fully and more quickly. He certainly understood the human condition, the fears of the unknown, the polarities that hold us back, the vast divide of our cultures and our propensities, the relatively short leap of science and technology only to have space fall prey to political ideologues and other persuasions. With the billions of stars out there in the universe, he questioned man’s need for Deity guidance and traditional beliefs, and, so far as I know, he was never truly bitter and caustic in his pronouncements. He was one of our genuine icons.

    My heart, my soul, can be easily inspired by this man’s genius.

    Thanks, Judith, for the unexpected Christmas present! These chapters gave me a chance to revisit someone I had overlooked for a time. We do get immersed in some of our daily rituals.

    Best regards,

    Billy Ray

    .

    • It’s good to get another response from you, Billy Ray,
      I’m very happy you enjoyed the series. I think Carl was a poet, a wordsmith, as you said. He made the universe a wonderful place to consider for the general public. I think we need him now. I know Neil DeGrasse Tyson and Mikau Kaku are doing a great job trying to fill his shoes, but Carl will always be special. If you liked The Pale Blue Dot there’s an animated version with the same words on my tumblr site, about page 10, I think. It scrolls down to the buttons to click. I’ve also posted a lot of this on my FB at facebook.com/authorjudithvictoriadouglas. There’s a lot on YouTube and, of course, NASA’s websites and FB pages.

      Carl was a pure atheist and didn’t expect to have an afterlife. He felt it ended for him when he died and this life was our one shot to make the best of a rare chance. He still understood other’s need for the comfort their beliefs offered. He was very much a gentleman in his regard toward others without his education and knowledge.
      It will be a very hard road for those who don’t ask the questions and search answers, not until satisfied, but until there’s an epiphany in your heart that feels like a new awareness has come on. I hope the changes in our society in this manner takes the time needed for the old skin to fall off slowly. If it’s too sudden I fear many will suffer more than necessary. That is my only reason for my warnings. But, as I have a character refer to it in my novel, I can’t speak to those with no ears. I hope I’m not giving up too easily, but I feel I’m only one voice. There are many others. Maybe someone else will make the point clearer or more inviting.
      Have a wonderful holiday. And thanks again for your response.
      Judith

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Covert Geopolitics

Beyond the Smoke & Mirrors

The Write Agenda™

We scrutinize claims made by others in the publishing industry to evaluate the transparency and accuracy of their reporting.

Theupliftingcrane's Blog

The "Ugly Truth" ain't Pretty

Cut2TheTruth

100% Pure Uncut Reality

Reading Recommendations

Authors and their books - Great reading suggestions!

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

chrismcmullen

Writing, Publishing, and Marketing Ideas

Rave Reviews By Nonnie Jules

Reviews Make an Author's World Go Round

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Dawn Allen

Write On: Words on Craft.

Lively Athena

Living life like a greek goddess everyday . . . just kidding. I'm too lazy for that.

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

Indie Book Reviewer

a guide for indie authors, last updated Jan 2015 | powered by amharte.com

Indie Book Zone

Discover a great new book today ...

The Charlie Bone Blog

Because children of red kings are cooler than stupid boy wizards!

hoofwoman

Musings about Equine Hooves and Health

Christine Nolfi

Heartwarming and Inspiring Fiction

Leeswammes' Blog

Books, Books, and Books

Readioactive Books

The place for readers and writers...

roydimond

Question everything including me... Buddha

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Straight from the Horse's Heart

A Spiritual Ride through Love, Loss and Hope

babarjaved.com

Let us work together in beauty and truth

